Pa Council on the Arts

CITIZEN MEMBERS of the Council

  • Chair -- Jeff Parks | Bethlehem
  • Vice Chair -- Jeffrey W. Gabel | Gettysburg
  • E. Jeanne Gleason | Johnstown
  • Susan H. Goldberg | Philadelphia
  • Gayle Isa | Philadelphia
  • Justin Laing | Pittsburgh
  • William Lehr, Jr. | Palmyra
  • Lee Steadman | McKean
  • Paula A. Vitz | Red Lion
  • James A. West, Jr. | Pittsburgh
  • Jen Holman Zaborney | New Cumberland


The PCA is governed by a Council of 19 members - 15 private citizens and four members of the General Assembly.

Citizen members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The Council sets the mission and goals for the agency, evaluates the PCA's progress toward these goals, formulates policy, and makes final decisions on the use of funds. Citizen members serve without compensation. From these members, the Governor appoints the chair and vice-chair of the Council, who serve at his pleasure. Citizen members are appointed to three-year terms and hold office until their successors have been appointed and confirmed.

No member is eligible for reappointment during the one-year period following the expiration of his/her second successive term. Two of the legislative members are appointed from the House of Representatives by the Speaker of the House, and two are appointed from the Senate by the President Pro Tempore.

Legislative members are selected equally from the major political parties. For the purposes of Act 538, such members of the legislature constitute a joint interim legislative committee on the arts, the Council and its appropriation.

Please send all mail for Council members in care of:
Pennsylvania Council on the Arts | 216 Finance Building | Harrisburg, PA 17120

Upcoming Council Meetings

  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017
  • Location: To be determined

  • Council Meeting Minutes



    ​ ​​​​​

    About Us Contact Us Accessibility