Begin Main Content Area

PA Council on the Arts

Citizen Members of the Council

  • Chair -- Susan Silver Cohen | Harrisburg
  • Vice Chair -- Emmai Alaquiva | Pittsburgh
  • Dennis L. Astorino, AIA | Pittsburgh
  • Susan S. Cohen | Harrisburg
  • Jeffrey W. Gabel | Gettysburg
  • Natalee C. Gunderson, SHRM-CP | York
  • Susan H. Goldberg | Philadelphia
  • Hon. William F. Morgan | Warren
  • Jeffrey A. Parks | Bethlehem
  • Norman E. Stull | Spinnerstown
  • Catzie Vilayphonh | Philadelphia
  • Tim Warfield, Jr. | York
  • Jen Holman Zaborney | Harrisburg

​Legislative Members of the Council

About the Council​

The PCA is governed by a Council of 19 members - 15 private citizens and four members of the General Assembly.

Citizen members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The Council sets the mission and goals for the agency, evaluates the PCA's progress toward these goals, formulates policy, and makes final decisions on the use of funds. Citizen members serve without compensation. From these members, the Governor appoints the chair and vice-chair of the Council, who serve at his pleasure. Citizen members are appointed to three-year terms and hold office until their successors have been appointed and confirmed.

No member is eligible for reappointment during the one-year period following the expiration of his/her second successive term. Two of the legislative members are appointed from the House of Representatives by the Speaker of the House, and two are appointed from the Senate by the President Pro Tempore.

Legislative members are selected equally from the major political parties. For the purposes of Act 538, such members of the legislature constitute a joint interim legislative committee on the arts, the Council and its appropriation.

Please send all mail for Council members in care of:
Pennsylvania Council on the Arts | 216 Finance Building | Harrisburg, PA 17120

Recent and Upcoming Council Meetings

In the case of virtual meetings, individuals wishing to address the Council should contact the Council prior to the meeting via email registration, providing their affiliation with or interest in the subject they intend to address.
Individuals may contact the Council by sending requests to In order to assist Council's administration of virtual meetings, it is helpful for individuals to include their name and the phone number that will be used for signing into the virtual Council meeting.

  • Council Meeting Minutes

    PCA Legislative Members (1996--Present)

    List of members is in alphabetical order. Bold text denotes original members. 

    • Senator Camera Bartolotta, Waynesburg (2023-Present)
    • Representative Robert J. Butera, Norristown (1966-1968)
    • Senator Amanda M. Cappelletti, East Norriton (2023-Present)
    • Representative Joe Ciresi, Royersford (2019-Present)
    • Representative Mark B. Cohen, Philadelphia (1995-2013) 
    • Senator Joe Conti, Bucks (2007-2008) 
    • Senator J. Doyle Corman, Jr., Bellefonte (1977-1978) 
    • Senator Jay Costa, Jr., Pittsburgh (1996- 2005)
    • Senator Charles Dent, Allentown (2003-2005) 
    • Senator Henry G. Hager, Williamsport (1979-1980 est.) 
    • Representative Ellen A. Harley, King of Prussia (1991-1994) 
    • Representative Ruth B. Harper, Philadelphia (1977-1980) 
    • Representative Shelby Labs, Plumsteadville (2021-Present)
    • Senator Edwin G. Holl, Lansdale (1991-2003) 
    • Representative June N. Honaman, Landisville (1981-1988) 
    • Senator Edward L. Howard, Doylestown (1971-1976, 1979-1984) 
    • Senator Pam Iovino, Mt. Lebanon (2019-2020)
    • Speaker of the House K. Leroy Irvis, Pittsburgh (1975-1976) 
    • Senator Robert C. Jubelirer, Altoona (1985-1990) 
    • Representative Marilyn S. Lewis, Schwenksville (1979-1982) 
    • Senator Jack E. McGregor, Pittsburgh (1966-1970) 
    • Senator Charles McIlhinney, Doylestown (2008-2018) 
    • Representative H. Sheldon Parker, Jr., Pittsburgh (1969-1978) 
    • Representative Tina Pickett, Towanda (2003-2021) 
    • Senator Jeanette F. Reibman, Easton (1969-1994) 
    • Representative David Richardson, Jr., Germantown (1983-1994) 
    • Speaker of the House Matthew J. Ryan, Media (1995-2003) 
    • Representative Brian Sims, Philadelphia (2013-2019) 
    • Representative Charles D. Stone, Aliquippa (1966-1968) 
    • Representative Joseph A. Sullivan, Philadelphia (1969-1972)
    • Senator Christine M. Tartaglione, Philadelphia (1995, 2014-2019) 
    • Senator Judy Ward, Hollidaysburg (2019-2021)
    • Senator Charles R. Weiner, Philadelphia (1966-1967) 
    • Senator Anthony Williams, Philadelphia (2007-2014) 
    • Senator Gus Yatron, Reading (1967-1969)